Learning that you face serious charges that affect every aspect of your life is devastating.
First time offenders are subject to:
- Jail time and community service.
- Confiscation of your drivers license by the arresting officer.
- Drivers license suspension.
- Having your vehicle impounded.
- Stiff fines and court costs.
- A criminal record.
- The right to hire an attorney to represent you at your drivers license hearing and in criminal court.
Utah DUI Laws
The Utah DUI Laws are very specific and include driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. In other words you can be arrested for alcohol impaired driving, drug impaired driving or a combination of both.
According to the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice 2013 report, almost 81 percent of the arrests were for per se violations that included driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both. DUI Per Se means you have been charged with having a blood alcohol content (BAC) above the legal limit of 0.08%.
Driving Under The Influence of Drugs
Street drugs are not the only drugs considered in the law. Any drug, prescription or over-the-counter are always considered. To be safe follow the directions and warnings on any drug label.
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
In Utah, if you drink and drive you can be charged with two different offenses: Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Over the Limit (blood alcohol content -BAC over 0.08%.) These charges are designed to insure that a Driving Under the Influence or DUI arrest sticks, even if the arrest was a result of was only impaired by drugs or alcohol, by-passing the mandatory BAC chemical test.
DUI Driving Ques
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, nhtsa.gov, has issued this officer training list of 24 driving cues that would give an officer reasonable cause to suspect a person is driving impaired.
First column is the driving symptom, the second column is the percentage likelihood the cue is correct.
Also according to the NHTSA the following post-stop cues have been found to be excellent predictors of DUI.
- Difficulty with motor vehicle controls
- Difficulty exiting the vehicle
- Fumbling with driver’s license or registration
- Repeating questions or comments
- Swaying, unsteady, or balance problems
- Leaning on the vehicle or other object
- Slurred speech
- Slow to respond to officer or officer must repeat questions
- Providing incorrect information or changes answers
- Odor of alcoholic beverage from the driver
Suspicion of DUI Arrests In Utah
As you can see there are many factors that play into a DUI arrest in Utah. If you have been arrested for suspicion of DUI you do have rights.
What you should do now.
- Make notes of everything that occurred during your arrest and during any tests you may have taken.
- If you have been arrested for suspicion of DUI you should contact a St. George, Utah DUI lawyer immediately.
- Get attorney help with your drivers license hearing. You only have 10 days to file for your DMV hearing to get your drivers license back.
- Fight the charges against you. A good Utah DUI attorney will a look at every aspect of your arrest to either drop or lessen the criminal charges against you.
Call St. George, Utah DUI Lawyer, Cara Tangaro. 801-673-9984 to represent you at your drivers license hearing and fight for you in criminal court.
Again in 2104, Ms. Cara Tangaro was voted by her peers as Utah Legal Elite for DUI Defense.