“In 2014 I was named as Utah Legal Elite for DUI defense. This selection reiterates the effort and fight that I put into my clients cases.” Cara Tangaro
Logan, Utah DUI Attorney Advice
In the State of Utah the consequences of a DUI arrest can be severe:
- Heavy Fines – Fines start at $700.00 and increase with each offense and the severity of the offense.
- Loss of your drivers license – Immediately the officer will confiscate your license. You will have to take fast action to get it back.
- Jail Time – Every DUI offense carries jail time on an escalating scale from 48 hours to 1,500 hours.
- Community Service Hours – The Judge may order you to do community service.
- Car Impound – Every police agency has a policy on whether to impound your car or not. Impound fees ($350.00) from the DMV and tow company will apply.
- Criminal Record – If you are convicted of DUI, you will have a criminal record that can affect your ability for citizenship or the ability to work.
- Ignition Interlock Devices – You face the likelihood of being required to install an ignition interlock device. This is another expense you face.
- Drug Treatment Program – Depending upon your offense the Judge may require to complete a drug and alcohol program. Of course this is also at your expense.
- Increased Insurance Rates – Now you will be required to carry expensive DUI insurance on your vehicles.
Of course, the cost of a DUI in one specific case will greatly depend on the circumstances of the DUI.
At the point of arrest you come under two different jurisdictions in Utah.
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
The arresting officer has confiscated your drivers license and notified the DMV of your arrest. At this time you only have 10 days to file with the DMV in order to regain your license to drive until your criminal case is complete. Other wise your license will be automatically suspended 29 days after your arrest.
You now face criminal charges. Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal in the USA.
Logan, Utah DUI Attorney on DUI testing laws.
Most likely you have submitted to a Field Sobriety Test. Although Utah DUI laws do not require you to take a Field Sobriety Test (FST), most people are not aware of this catch in the law and have submitted to the tests.
Generally, it is advised that you do not take any FST since they are subject to both police and DUI suspect error.
Because of Utah’s Implied Consent Law, most likely you have also submitted to a Chemical Test:
The Implied Consent Law says that a person operating a motor vehicle in this state is considered to have given the person’s consent to a chemical test or tests of the person’s breath, blood, urine, or saliva for the purpose of determining whether the person was operating or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
If you are lawfully arrested by an officer who has probable cause to believe that you have been driving under the influence that an officer can require a chemical test to determine your blood alcohol content. The test must be taken as soon as possible and the officer gets to choose which test you take.
What Should You Do Now?
The wrong thing to do is nothing. Do not think that ignoring your hearings and court dates will work.
You must act immediately to get your drivers license hearing.
You must act to get your car out of impound.
Get Legal Representation – It is your right.
- Because a good attorney always works for your best interest.
- Because thinking you can handle this on your own is a big mistake.
- Because a good Logan, Utah DUI lawyer knows the law and how to look at every aspect of the arrest.
- Because it is possible to get your charges lessened or thrown out of court. You will not know until you contact a DUI attorney.
- Because a DUI Lawyer can be less expensive in the long run.
Call me today, I can help you with your DUI arrest.
Cara Tangaro, Logan, Utah DUI Lawyer